Thankful

Three months since my last update. We did all come through having Covid all right. My husband did continue to improve and we are back to our normal activity levels altho I still cannot smell or taste much at all. My digestive system now needs frequent enzymes and it has taken a LONG time to get my wind back while exerting myself. But I have started walking every day and not pushing myself beyond my limits. We are taking supplements to heal and to keep our blood flowing smoothly.

But the small community I work in – at a health food store – is seeing a terrible spike in cases as is most of the country. This town had not really seen much activity yet so many people have been in denial. Now the ICU is full and patients are being transported out. I had to put the shop back to drive thru service only because exposed people seemed to be coming inside for their zinc and I don’t know if my immunity has waned.

Today is the American Thanksgiving. Not much for holidays myself so maybe I am thankful for one that isn’t stressful for a change. We canceled plans and are making dinner just for the four of us. I miss my family terribly but I haven’t seen some of them in years. Covid had nothing to do with it. Long distances and shortage of time and money keep us apart. But I am thankful all are well and unscathed.

In spite of all the challenges this year has been great in many ways for our family. Our crazy plan to downsize seems to have come just in time. While I felt trapped 12 months ago after first moving here – and the space is still suffocating at times – I now feel sheltered and tucked away. I know it’s not forever, and we are seeing opportunities we never had before. The winter is going to require patience and perseverance emotionally for all of us. But I believe no matter where we are there is something to be grateful for. Keeping that in focus makes all the difference.

Leave a comment