The Calm

I’ve always wondered what it would be like waiting for a hurricane. What does it feel like to sit on your porch (after you have boarded windows, stocked up on food, batteries and water) and enjoy the sunny breeze and birds chirping. The direct path of the storm is not yet known but in spite of the beautiful peaceful day, a sense of dread fills the air overshadowing what looks perfectly normal in every other way.

Maybe that’s not what it’s like at all. I’ve never waited on a hurricane to show up. But that’s how it feels this fine Spring day. The pear trees have all bloomed, the oak trees have buds about to leaf out, my garden is sprouting, and the birds are happily chirping at my feeder. My youngest son had his first little league game a few days ago. On the surface everything is wonderful. I do try to breathe in every moment. They seem to matter more now than before.

The first time I heard this new disease had been detected as spreading from person to person, I was concerned. Soon after, when the Chinese reported how long it could incubate and that a person could share it before they knew they were sick, I became certain this thing would find its way nearly everywhere. Weeks ago we began to prepare.

I was told over and over not to “panic”. People equated preparing with panic. Now that it’s obvious it’s growing here too – NOW they tell people to prepare, but “don’t panic”. I don’t feel prepared at all, but we’ve done what we can. I’ve begun hoarding things. I must have a depression era previous life because I see a use for everything. No more throwing away paper, cardboard, glass, or plastic containers and bags. I’ve planted some things. For years I’ve known how fragile and dependent our way of life is – yet my fellow citizens seem to feel we are untouchable. Can’t happen to us – not here. We are better, special.

Yesterday the first case was confirmed in the county next to us. The one my son lives in. The son who has lung damage from chemotherapy he received when he was 18. He is young – but that worries me. Today – the toilet paper disappeared from store shelves and a man came in the shop where I work and bought over $300 worth of vitamins and supplements for his family. He asked me if I thought it was like they were saying… like the flu. Nope. Not like that at all. Do people even know what happens anywhere else in the world?

Anyway, tomorrow is another beautiful day. I will enjoy the sunshine and warm breezes, but the dread remains. America isn’t special, or privileged when it comes to our biology. Our cells have the same receptors as everyone else. Our government has dropped the ball on so many fronts. No country can truly be ready for something like this. Some have acted quickly and efficiently and are able to minimize the damage. Others are being overrun and some are poised to be in that same position – trying to save face and financial markets till it’s too late – not a wise strategy in my opinion. I think in the end you lose all that you tried to save. But such is the way of mother nature and human nature. These events are not unknown, just forgotten.

June. Let’s see what it’s like then.

Leave a comment