Losing Sense of Time

Life has become a strange, surreal experience. So many emotions – not all of them bad. We are barely into this experience yet it seems a months worth of living has taken place in the last two weeks. I should be journaling the days but I am just trying to keep up.

Unlike so many we are not on lockdown. We already homeschooled. We didn’t do much to begin with out in the world. Biggest change is we stopped eating out completely (Americans don’t think masks help anything so no one is going to be breathing on or touching my food thank you.) My kids are definitely missing going to see their friends. We went last Sunday for one visit – probably the last for a long while.

We are fortunate to still be working, and I am working more than ever. The little health food store I help out at has seen almost doubled sales the last two weeks, understandably. I stocked my stash of supplements a month ago, but as everyone begins to wake up to a new reality, we are seeing many scared and frantic customers. Many have no experience in natural health and want someone to tell them what they need. Speaking of which.. I was going to write a post on immunity but there’s plenty of info out there on that. Here is a great article.

Our shop operates out of a building that was a fast food chicken restaurant many years ago. Because of this we have a handy take-out window and have begun to funnel customers through our drive thru only. We were the first business in our small town to stop letting customers inside and the owner thought it was “too soon”. My belief is we are way behind the curve not ahead of it. But by the end of the week many businesses in town followed suit.

My almost 90 year old boss refuses to stay home. This shop is her life. Her immune system is probably better than most, I agree. Yet you cannot escape the effects of time. Our bodies are not immortal. Friday she went home early, so tired. A cold north wind had blown in with the rain and the added exertion of fetching orders had worn her down. For the first time in my three years working there she elected to not come in on Saturday. She thought we should close up that day and I assured her I was fine for the four hours we schedule that day. I was really worried.

Today she emailed that she was better, but didn’t know a person could be that tired. She was afraid she had become ill. I was too. I wish she would stay home, but I think being stuck at home for her would be a worse fate. People are so thankful we are still open. I hope it will remain so. We are licensed as a food store, so hopefully!

My construction worker husband obviously can’t work from home either, and they are still up and running. Thankfully next job is out of the city this week. Some in our family not so lucky with the job situation. Tricky waters.

Spring has arrived and it’s a comfort to have this beauty all around us. Brilliant greens, Texas Bluebonnets (sorry no pics yet), and the garden is loving all the rain altho I’m ready for a dry spell.

Our family has decided to give the plague a Texas nickname.. “The Caronya”. We don’t got the Caronya yet, (and probably already did) so we shall keep pressing on. A frantic customer paused to ask about my family this week. When I told her we had two teenagers and two big cats in a tiny house her eyes got really big and she said she was going to stop complaining. I laughed. Yes, and so much to be thankful for, not the least of which is our beautiful surroundings.

Time to go make pancakes. Happy Sunday.

2 thoughts on “Losing Sense of Time

  1. I am so glad you are there to help everyone that comes into your sphere of influence! Wish we were close to you, I might stop by every day!

Leave a comment